A Book lover’s must read :)

fullsizeoutput_2dec

I read The Diary Of A Bookseller by Shaun Bythell last year and fell in love with it. Of course, as a book lover, I’m always on the hunt for books about books. And, when I saw this book with its beautiful, playful cover, I couldn’t resist. Since then, I was waiting for Confessions Of A Bookseller, and it’s finally here πŸ™‚

Shaun Bythell is the owner of the biggest second hand bookshop in Scotland, in a little town called Wigtown. It’s called The Bookshop. Here are a couple pictures:

bookshop-the

1181

He’s one of our people, being a lover of books πŸ™‚ These books are the stories he collected over the years getting to know so many different types of people who come and go through his book shop. There are frequents, non-buyers, weirdos, you name it! He also gives an insight to a day in his life throughout the book, how it is to run a book shop, etc.
Also, there are many many book recommendations as you read. So, be prepared with your notebook πŸ™‚

IMG_9661

The Diary Of A Bookseller was the first book he wrote. It’s heartfelt, witty, full of his passionΒ  for books. Also, the realities most of us don’t know about selling books, which are not so bright πŸ™‚ Nevertheless, for a book addict like me, this was a real gem, and I enjoyed it massively.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9662

Confessions of a Bookseller came out very recently as the second book. It’s very much in line with the first one, and doesn’t disappoint. It’s quite witty. I specifically loved the parts where he wrote about his interactions with staff, town people, neighbours, etc. It was also interesting to read about his relationships with buyers and sellers, including people with large collection of books. I enjoyed the structure of the book as well, starting the chapters for each month with an extract from a parody novel about booksellers.

 

 

These are definitely very enjoyable books for book lovers giving an insight to a book seller’s life and all that comes with it. I love the writing, genuine book love that comes through, and both bright and dark sides of the book industry. Highly, highly recommended!

That’s all from me today. I hope you enjoyed this review and thanks so much for stopping by. Happy reading!

Umut

 

 


4 thoughts on “A Book lover’s must read :)

  1. I loved the first book and am only just starting the second. I met Shaun just over a year ago when he visited New Zealand’s Book Town – Featherston to promote Diary of a Bookseller. He called into a bookshop that I was browsing in at the time and we had a nice chat and he posed with me for a photo – Really nice guy, not at all what I expected after reading the book. I thought he would have been sarcastic, caustic, slightly insulting….but no. I hope to make the big trip over to Wigtown for the festival in September 2020….and will take my copy of Confessions of… for him to sign. He signed and wrote a few nice words in his earlier book for me. Hoping I can get him to put something sarcastic in this one. Nice review by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment