September Wrap Up, 12 books!

73815E0F-0F0B-4718-BAB0-EEF6987A294B

Hello friends! Here’s my compressed wrap up again, for the month of September, for those of you who just want to have a quick look through what I read in the month. I love looking at these very condensed and crisp wrap ups on Instagram. So, I’m carrying it over to my blog every month. This time, I’ll also link my Goodreads reviews on the titles, if you want to see what I thought in more detail. I was in our summer house in Turkey in September, so I was still in summer vibes. So, you will see most of my books were summer themed ๐Ÿ™‚ Here we go, 12 books of September with tops & flops:

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ: CAN’T STOP THINKING ABOUT

Next Year In Havana by Chanel Cleeton (This book took me to Cuba and made my heart beat for Cuban people who went through tough times. Excellent historical fiction!)

Sisters Grimmย by Menna van Praagย (This was an adult fantasy ARC I read, coming out in March 2020. A complex story with multiple POVs, I enjoyed a lot.)

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ: VERY GOOD

The Ten Thousand Doors Of January by Alix E. Harrow (very promising historical fantasy debut, with beautiful writing!)

Six Stories by Matt Wesolowski (3.5 stars actually. I liked the podcast format, but didn’t reach that special mark, as the whole thing didn’t progress and end perfectly.)

The Lake Effectย by Erin McCahan (Cute, slice of life YA contemporary written in a charming way.)

The Fortnight In Septemberย by R.C. Sherriffย (Another slice of life summer holiday story printed by Persephone Books. Cute, charming, well written.)

A Pinch Of Magic by Michelle Harrison (Middle Grade book with sorcery, sisterhood, adventure. I loved it!)

Lots of 4 stars this month ๐Ÿ™‚

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ: MEH, MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

How Do You Like Me Now?ย by Holly Bourne (My first Holly Bourne, and her first adult contemporary. I really liked the witty writing, the story she created. But, things didn’t progress much in all the book.)

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (I liked her writing, so I’ll try Fangirl as well. But, this one wasn’t for me. Too much dialogue, too little happening.)

The Truth About Lies by Tracy Darnton (YA thriller with very interesting content. Lost the pace and thrill.)

Where’d You Go Bernadette? by Maria Semple (Liked the format it was written in, found it dynamic. I’m not convinced with Bernadette and her motives.)

๐ŸŒŸ: I DIDN’T LIKE AT ALL

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch (I just couldn’t stand the simple, choppy writing style. For me this was more of a chase story than anything else. Saw the twist coming miles ahead.)

DNF: Read Queen by Victoria Aveyard & The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I think thatโ€™s it! Would love to hear from you if you read or plan to read any of these books ๐Ÿ“š Happy reading!

 


3 thoughts on “September Wrap Up, 12 books!

Leave a comment